Weekend Ruminations #2

Continuing the weekly tradition of random tidbits of atheist/skeptical thinking…

ITEM THE FIRST:

Pope John Paul II has been beatified and is on the way to sainthood. Sex abuse scandals be damned; the guy supposedly healed a nun of Parkinson’s disease (even though she was never officially diagnosed with anything)! Sounds to me like the sainthood standards are pretty low…

ITEM THE SECOND:

Despite popular misconceptions, atheists really aren’t all that bad. Says the atheist: duh. Says the evangelical Christian: it doesn’t matter how good they are – they’re still not saved, so to hell with them (literally). It’s a great article, but I don’t expect it to change any minds.

ITEM THE THIRD:

When I told one of my Catholic coworkers that I’d had my Easter dinner at a Chinese buffet, she (jokingly) said it sounded like I was basically Jewish. (She knows I’m an atheist.) I wondered for a while if this would actually bother someone who is Jewish; among the Jewish people I do know, it’s a pretty common tradition to spend Christian holidays when everything is shut down at Chinese restaurants (which tend not to close).

Leave a Reply

